Attention: You are using an outdated browser, device or you do not have the latest version of JavaScript downloaded and so this website may not work as expected. Please download the latest software or switch device to avoid further issues.

News > General News > New OP President elected at AGM

New OP President elected at AGM

Joan Gough (née Sawyer, 75-77) has been elected as the new OP President at the Annual General Meeting of the Old Pocklingtonian Association, held by Zoom in November.
26 Nov 2020
General News

Joan, who was one of the first girls to attend Pocklington School in the sixth form, is now the first female OP President in the history of the Association. She succeeds Trevor Loten (70-80) who stepped down from the role after coming to the end of his three-year tenure. 

Congratulations also go to Charlie Lambert (01-08) who was elected as Vice President. He takes over from James Sweeting (81-88) who stepped down after eight years on the committee. 

Trevor commented: “I am really pleased to be handing over the reins to Joan, who has been an integral part of the OP committee for several years and congratulate her on becoming the first female President!”   

Joan said: “I am delighted to be taking on the role of OP President and very much look forward to working with Charlie and all members of the committee to build on the achievements of my predecessors.  With the unusual times in which we are living, our initial priority will be to engage with and support our younger members as they work through this time of great uncertainty.  To this end, we are very fortunate to have Rachel and Leanne in the OP office whose hard work and dedication provides continuity and makes all our endeavours possible. 

I would also like to thank Trevor and James for their significant contribution over the years. Their combined experience has been of much value to the OP committee and we look forward to keeping in touch and seeing them at OP events once these can resume.” 

Other newly elected committee members are Matthew Atkinson (85-93) and Michael McInstry (00-11)

The full OP committee is now as follows: 

Position Name Dates at school
President Joan Gough 75-77 
Vice-President Charlie Lambert  01-08 
Treasurer  Eszti Pontone  95-97 
Secretary  Rachel Dare  OP Liaison Officer 
Staff Liaison  Phil Donaldson   Teaching staff 
Staff Liaison Lucy Hornby  02-04, Teaching staff 
Ex Officio Trevor Loten  70-80 
Committee  Sarah Gough 96-07
Committee  Simon Spence  74-81 
Committee  Steven Kyffin  70-77 
Committee  Richard Skowronek  99-10 
Committee  Michael McInstry 00-11 
Committee Matthew Atkinson  85-93
Co-opted  Tom Nash  68-77 
Co-opted  Andrew Wilson  89-99 

If any OPs would be interested in getting involved with the OP committee in the future, please contact the OP office. 

Similar stories

Pock Connects, the new network for OPs and the wider Pocklington School community, held it More...

OPs triumphed in this year's Birkdale Bucket golf tournament which sees teams of former pu More...

Colin Bell (left) with co-founders Arjan Verbeek and Hamish Peacocke

Perenna Bank, co-founded by OP Colin Bell, is set to disrupt the UK mortgage market with i More...

OP Ollie Medforth may have been the first candidate to be fired in the latest series of Th More...

Charlie Lambert has been elected as the new OP President and takes over from Joan Gough, w More...

At the start, Mark, third from the left, Steven, second from the right

OP contemporaries Mark Greenwood and Steven Kyffin took on a 200-mile cycling challenge su More...

We are sorry to report the loss of former staff member, John Williamson. More...

We are sorry to report the recent loss of former staff member, David Nuttall. More...

Most read

Pock Connects, the new network for OPs and the wider Pocklington School community, held its first drinks event in London and trialed an in-school 'bit… More...

Killian gives an insight into his varied career and offers some advice for those wishing to pursue a similar career path. More...

The 32nd annual Snake Lane 10-mile road race, hosted by Pocklington Runners, took place on Sunday 18 February. More...

Submit your news

This website is powered by